Appreciating the small things

Today was my first chance to sleep-in in quite a while and it was amazing. As I woke up and rolled over to look at my cell phone which functions as my alarm clock, I saw that it was around 8:30 and I rolled back over and continued to lay there and enjoy the pure unadulterated bliss that is sleeping in. I finally got up a little after nine and went to the bathroom only to notice that my toilet didn’t flush when I hit the little shiny lever. I pushed it and held it in in frustration but the porcelain seat remained silent and did not respond. I pulled on the sink, and my worst fears were confirmed. We had no water in our house. Thanks to the bitter, cold, below twenty degree night that we had, the pipes in our house had frozen. Me being the germaphobe that I am, had to wash my hands with the water that was remaining in my water bottle that was sitting on the counter in the kitchen. As I was washing my hands in this ghetto way I thought about all the poor people in the world that have never had running water a single day in their life, and here I was in utter disbelief at the inconvenience of not having it for just a few hours. How easy it is to take for granted all the privileges and conveniences that I have just because I was born in this particular part of the world. I could have just as easily been born a third world county where I would be extremely thankful just to have food to eat for the day. It sure does put things in perspective when you look at it that way. Finally, by the afternoon the water was flowing freely through the pipes again and I got to brush my teeth and enjoy a hot shower. Hopefully this experience will make me a little more thankful for what I have, and maybe it will make you think about how lucky you are the next time you flush your toilet.

~ by twentyfivetolife on January 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
