Legos!

This weekend was crazy busy. It feels like a blur when I try to think back over all that happened. I went straight from work to Baltimore to have dinner with some friends, and then I went to see U23D at the Imax theater in the Science Museum. It was amazing to say the least. I haven’t been to an Imax theater in years, and I’ve never seen an Imax movie in 3d. It felt like Bono was singing about 2 feet in front of you and that he was looking right at you as he sang. I thought Adam Clayton was going to smack me in the head with his bass guitar at one point too. All I can say is if you like U2 even just a little, go see this movie. National Geographic was there at the theater shooting footage and doing interviews for some type of documentary I am guessing, so you might see me on TV at some point. If you do, please let me know.

On Saturday I went to the Washington Auto Show and was awestruck at the beauty of the new Nissan GTR that they had on the spinning display stage. Can you say 450 horsepower, 0-60 in 3.3 seconds, and a fully computer controlled clutch that shifts gears in .2 seconds. If only I had $70k laying around I would make it mine.

After the auto show I went to see Cloverfield. It was a frantic, entertaining, blockbuster style movie that I would highly recommend. Just be careful if you suffer from motion sickness at all because you might surprise the person sitting in front of you in the most unfortunate way.

Lastly, and the reason for the title of this post, today is the 50th anniversary of Legos. Yes, those magical plastic bricks that you could put into any configuration that you imagination could dream up are 50 years old today. I still remember the Christmas when I got the Lego Technics set that came with the battery powered motor that could bring all the little cars, helicopters, and other contraptions that I would build to life. Legos are more than just a toy, they are a spark of creativity for young, developing minds. The possibilities are only limited by your imagination. If I ever have kids, this is one of the toys that they will definitely have (mostly because it will give me an excuse to buy and play with more Legos). Now I really want to go dig through my parents basement and find my precious plastic bricks just to see what I could come up with now.

~ by twentyfivetolife on January 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
