The Metal

Last night I went to see As I Lay Dying and August Burns Red in DC.

 

Oh my, was it a good show. August Burns Red really impressed me with how tight and precise they were as a band. The drums and guitar were spot on and sounded amazing. As I Lay Dying was great as always too. They played a good mix of old and new songs and their light show which was synced with the music was mesmerizing. They really are the best metal band around right now.  An Ocean Between Us, their new album, was my favorite album of 2007 by far. They are even are nominated for a grammy this year. Their performance last night inspired me to be a better musician, songwriter, and altogether human being.

~ by twentyfivetolife on January 29, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Metal”

  1. the 930 let you bring in a camera?

  2. No, I didn’t have a camera. Although plenty of people in there did. The club doesn’t seem to care. I just found this image online from another show and used it for effect. I hope none of my readers feel deceived.

  3. it creeps me out you wrote the word “tight”

  4. I meant tight as in how the drums and guitar were perfectly in time. Not tight as in “dude! thats a tight shirt.” Not that it would have been a bad thing to use it in the latter sense.

Leave a Reply

 
