Last night

At about 3:30 am this morning I awoke to someone knocking at my door. My first thought was that I was just dreaming so I tried to ignore it, and then I heard my name being called. It was my neighbor saying that he needed my car keys so he could move my car that was parked in the street. As I was about to ask why in the world do you need to move my car at 3:30 in the morning he said that the firetrucks needed to get by. As it turns out, the house across the street from me was on fire. I handed him my keys and quickly threw on some clothes to brave the sub freezing temperature outside. As soon as I walked out my front door, I couldn’t believe my eyes. All I could see was a ton of firetrucks and police cars and the little vacation home that sits across the street from us lit up with bright orange flames.

House on fire

Now when I say that it was on fire, I don’t mean a little smoke coming out the windows, I mean a freakin’ two story bonfire. The whole entire house including the roof was completely engulfed in flames. When me and my roommates walked up to the edge of the property which was about 200-250 feet away from the house I could feel the heat of the fire on my face. It was quite an amazing site to behold. The picture above was the best I could get being so far away and with no tripod. You still get the idea though.

~ by twentyfivetolife on February 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “Last night”

  1. sweet picture. I really wanted to take one, but felt bad. Plus, it was just smoke and water by the time I saw it.

  2. holy crap! that’s not the “doctor’s” house is it?

Leave a Reply

 
