Skiing

I finally got a chance to go skiing on Saturday. It was my first time hitting the slopes since I was in college in 2005. Luckily, I found out that skiing is just like riding a bike because as soon as I hopped off the lift on my first trip to the top of the easiest bunny slope, I could still make it down the hill reasonably well.  And when I say reasonably well, I really just mean that I didn’t fall.

My biggest fear for this trip though was not that I would have to relearn how to ski again, it was that I would somehow seriously injure myself. Despite the many loving reminders that I have gotten from my mom since last May when I quit my last job, I still do not have any health insurance. I’m one of those people that has never been seriously ill or hurt in any way. I’ve never broken a bone, gotten stitches, or gone to the ER for any reason. The worst thing that has happened to me health wise would probably be when I got an abscessed tooth and had to get a root canal when I was 12. Therefore, the thought of wasting hundreds or even thousands of dollars a year just in case something might happen to me seems like such a waste.

For some reason though, the night before I went skiing, I had this strange fear that something terrible was going to happen on the slopes, like me getting impaled with my ski pole, or a compound fracture where my femur would be sticking out a few inches from my leg for all to see. In a panic, I looked online for some quick, cheap, “in case I lose a limb” health insurance. I found one that is offered for alumni of Liberty (the college I went to) and it said that I could have next day coverage. I thought to myself “yes, just made it.” Unfortunately I found out that “next day” was more like the next business day, though.

So I devised this plan in my mind that if I got hurt on Saturday, I could just take some of the leftover percocet that I have from getting my wisdom teeth taken out last year to make it through Saturday and Sunday, then I could go to the ER on Monday when my health insurance kicked in. I thought it was quite an ingenious plan. Fortunately (or maybe unfortunately) I didn’t need to start popping prescription pain killers this weekend, because I escaped from the mountain unscathed.

It turned out to be an almost perfect day for skiing. There was no rain like what they were calling for, and it was overcast so I didn’t get blinded by the sun’s reflection all day. Whitetail (the resort that we went to) turned out to be one of the best places to go that is within a 2 hour drive. I had almost forgotten how much I really do enjoy skiing, and now I am already ready to go again.

~ by twentyfivetolife on February 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
