Monday mourning

Yes, the spelling in the title is intentional. I’m sitting at work where it looks like I’m the only one who decided to come in today, and mourning the untimely death of the weekend. It came and went way too fast.

I must say though, that it was quite a fun, exciting, productive, and lazy weekend all at the same time. It was my first weekend off since since I think 3 weeks ago. Looking back, its all a blur now. The most exciting part was being able to sleep in for the first time since the time change last weekend. I finally allowed my body to wake up at the hour that it wanted to, and it was grateful. I slept in till 9 which I haven’t done in probably 2 or 3 months. Even the days where I could sleep in, I still usually wake up like clockwork around 7. I really don’t know how I used to sleep till 11 or sometimes later when I was in college. One of the perils of getting old I guess. To me though, I love waking up early on a day where I know I don’t have to do anything. I feel like I am wasting the day away if I sleep through half of it.

On Saturday, after rolling out of bed around 9 I walked over to my sister’s house and was treated to a breakfast of french toast croissants with bacon and eggs. To me there is no better way to enjoy a lazy Saturday than a huge breakfast. While I was over there, I decided I wanted to try this homemade recipe that I found on the internet for hot oil hair treatment. I haven’t cut my hair in almost a year now and it feels really tangly and dead, so I was hoping that some hot oil would bring new life to it. It was probably the one of the grossest things I have ever done, especially when the olive oil and honey mixture dripped into my ear and down my forehead. It seemed to help a little bit, but I think what I really need is a haircut. I’m hesitant though, because I’m just getting used to and starting to like my longer hair. Maybe I’ll cut just a little off.

In the afternoon, my friend Marcus came over to play some music. He had bought a new Fender Jazzmaster that I was eager to see and try out. I have been practicing drums a lot as of late, and it was great to be able to actually play with someone on guitar. We rocked out to some My Bloody Valentine as well as some of our old songs from the band that we used to be in together Day is Dying. It was lots of fun, and it was probably the first time playing drums along with other people where I felt like I could play reasonably well without messing up every 10 seconds.

That evening we had a little party at my house for all of the summer camp staff that were here to work for the weekend. We ate some ice cream and just sat around and talked since everyone was pretty worn out. It was the perfect end to a nearly perfect Saturday that included good food, music, and friends.

~ by twentyfivetolife on March 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
