My job and my life

Today I was reading one of my favorite tech blogs Slashdot. Yes, if you didn’t know by now, I am a huge nerd and I read tech blogs every day. Anyway, I came across this post which talks about Generation Y workers in the IT workplace (which is exactly what I am) and how their different viewpoints and insight can be beneficial to the companies they are working for.

In the comments below the article a discussion broke out about how the younger generation has no loyalty to the companies that they work for and will jump ship in a second for a slightly higher paycheck. As terrible and irresponsible as this sounds I actually agree with this viewpoint. To me, if all these big corporations will lay off thousands of their employees on a whim just to help their bottom line, why in the world should they expect their employees to stay with them if they are nothing more than an expendible line on the companies budget.

Right in the middle of this string of 689 comments and counting, there was one comment that really stuck out in my mind. This guy, who is not a Gen Y-er (I’m guessing that he is in his 50s or 60s), really seemed to hit the nail on the head. His user name is ironically: iknownuttin.

“I don’t know how old you are. My daughter is 26 and I noticed that she and her friends value friendships more than careers. Much more than my generation did. They also value the quality of life more. Meaning, life doesn’t revolve around career or the job. Yes, they’ll spend time and $$$ training and learning, but it’s not the end all like my generation. I busted my ass in my career and so did my friends. My career is meaningless now and all of my “friends” have moved on. I think the Gen Y or Millenials or whatever they’re called has their priorities in order. Basing your life on your career and job is idiotic and I think that’s where my generation is clueless when it comes the Gen Y’ers attitude towards work. They mistake wanting a life with apathy towards their job. Jobs come and go and are easy to get; but people who really matter to you are hard to find.”

~ by twentyfivetolife on March 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
