Morning Pages

Right now I’m chilling at Chick-fil-A enjoying their free wifi and hanging with some friends. I thought it would be a good time to write a quick blog post. I’m enjoying a Saturday off and it is heavenly. I woke up around 9, went for a run and then went swimming. A nice laid back day for sure.

I have been going through “The Artist’s Way” the book that I talked about before. It’s basically a program for helping people develop their creativity. One of the things that it tells you to do every day is to write what it calls “morning pages.” It’s really the same idea as journaling but it’s not really supposed to be you talking about what happened in your life the previous day. It is supposed to be 3 pages of you writing whatever is in your head at the moment, almost like free association I guess. It has been an interesting exercise for sure. I have journaled on and off for years now, but this feels different to me. The biggest part is that you have to do it everyday. It’s not optional. You have to fill up 3 pages no matter what. The author says if you can’t think of anything at all to write then you should write 3 pages of you repeating, “I can’t think of anything to write.” Since I really hate handwriting, I decided that I was going to type my pages out. And since I wasn’t sure how much 3 pages hand written would come out to typed, I made up my own goal of 1,000 words. I’m pretty sure though if I wrote out 100 words in my huge kindergartner handwriting it would be closer to 8-10 pages, not 3. But I figure if I can type fast enough, why not?

So far, it’s been a great experience. I get to basically vent my frustrations and what has been running through my head. It gets it out of my mind and down onto the page so I can think more clearly. We’ll see what it does for my creativity now. It’s a practice that I’m becoming addicted to and I would encourage everyone to try it sometime and see how it goes.

~ by twentyfivetolife on June 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
