The city of brotherly shove

Well I’m back from Philly as of 11:30 last night. It was a great weekend filled with all kinds of fun.

I got to do an extremely quick tour of the old Eastern State Penitentiary which was awesome. We only had a half an hour, but I actually got to see most of the cool stuff there. I snapped a bunch of pictures, but I haven’t gotten a chance to look at them yet. I’ll post a few when I get a chance.

After that we walked down South Street where I got a Cheese Steak which was delicious. At the end of south street along the water, there was a free Boys 2 Men concert that night. Unfortunately there was so many people that we couldn’t get close enough to see anything so we left before it started. We did get to see a little bit of DJ Jazzy Jeff mixing it up which was great. He even ended his set with the theme from Fresh Prince. The childhood memories of that beloved sitcom came flooding back.

Also down by the water they were having a charity thing where you paid a mere $5 for the chance to sample just about every kind of ice cream imaginable and as much as you wanted of each. My favorite was the graham cracker ice cream that I think was made by Edy’s. The group that I was with decided to do a little competition to see who could eat the most, but I had to cut myself off around 6 or 7 cups. I’m glad I made the wise decision to stop when I did.

On Sunday we did church, and then just hung out the whole afternoon before heading back to MD. It was a great weekend filled with good food, cool sights, and even cooler friends.

~ by twentyfivetolife on July 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
