Do what you love and you will love what you do

Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way
to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work.
And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.
If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, and don’t settle.
As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.

~ Steve Jobs

I can’t lie. I completely stole this quote from this post. I found this on digg the other day. This girl named Tina is talking about how she quit her day job and gained financial independence by starting her website Think Simple Now.  I’m sure you know if you read this blog from time to time that I often rant about how I am currently in the phase of my life where I am trying to find myself and what I want to do with my life. I often think that I would really love to not have to work a job so that I could take up all the creative things that I like to do and not have to worry about making money to survive. But, since I don’t play the lottery, I really don’t see how this is going to happen anytime soon. Therefore I have come to the conclusion that I need to find something that I love to do that also pays the bills.

This is not a new concept to me. It’s something that I’ve been searching for for a while now, but reading Tina’s post gave me hope. It made me realize that there are real people out there that have found a way to make the seamingly impossible idea of making a living doing something they love a reality. I think the next step that I need to take is to find what I really love. After I get that figured out, I can work on the much harder part of making money at it. The most important thing is to remember that it is possible. I am not condemned to a terrible office job for the rest of my life. I can do the things that I enjoy in life and still have food and shelter.

What about you? What is something that you love to do that you could make a living out of? Or if you are already doing it, tell me about it. Leave a comment and share.

~ by twentyfivetolife on August 26, 2008.

One Response to “Do what you love and you will love what you do”

  1. Sometimes you have to try out a bunch of things before you find what sticks.
    Then again you can also know in an instant. Like when I drove onto camp property the first time back in 1999. I knew it was what I was supposed to do with my life even though i wasn’t hired or even thinking of working there. Sometimes it’s lightning bolts from heaven.

Leave a Reply

 
