The great escape

So yesterday morning I was driving through the neighborhood where I live on my way out to work. There is this one corner where a group of probably 15 kids all gather to wait for the bus together. It looks like quite a party every morning. There are usually a few parents with the family’s dog along with kids riding around on skateboards or bikes and all kinds of other things.

Well on this particular morning I arrived right at the same time as the bus so I had to sit there and wait for all the kids to shuffle onto the bus before the little motorized stop sign flipped back in and I could drive by. While all the kids were getting on there was the one little kid who looked like he couldn’t be older than 3 or 4 who saw an opening for escape and took off running full speed down the street towards where I was waiting probably 40 feet away from the bus. My first thought was that his older brother or sister was getting on the bus so he was getting a head start back to the house to get his pop tart or to watch Sponge Bob or something. All of a sudden this lady, who I am assuming was his grandma because she looked way too old to be his mother, saw him running full speed away and started yelling at the top of her lungs at him.

The kid stopped, turned around and just stared at her for a few seconds as she started pointing to the ground directly in front of her as she yelled at him to come back. The kid slowly started walking back towards her. I thought to myself “good job grandma, you don’t want junior getting hit by a car or something as he runs home by himself,” but it got even better from there. After he slowly made it back over to her she picked up a backpack and thew it on his back as she “guided” him towards the bus. She then helped him up the first step onto the bus which was about half of this kid’s total heighth. I started laughing to myself uncontrollably. This kid wasn’t a little brother that was waiting with his brother or sister. No, he was a kindergartener who was trying to escape. I can’t say I blame the kid. He probably saw freedom in his sight and decided to go for it.To bad grandma saw him because she was almost distracted by the bus long enough for him to get away.

I can’t say that I wouldn’t have tried the same thing if I was in his shoes. If you see an opening you have to go for it!

~ by twentyfivetolife on September 25, 2008.

One Response to “The great escape”

  1. ahhh hahahahaha

Leave a Reply

 
