Giving thanks

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone, and by everyone I mean the 10 or so people that might possibly read this blog. What am I thankful for you might ask. Well that’s easy. All the usual stuff. A family that loves me, friends that make me laugh, a place to live, food to eat, a new zip up hoodie to keep me warm, the winter days that are just cold enough to require my new hoodie, chap stick to keep my lips moist on those winter days, my guitar that has not gotten enough use as of late, an iphone that makes it possible to look up the difference between sweet potatoes and yams right in the middle of Thanksgiving dinner without leaving the table, a sunset that was so bright pink it was beyond description, and so much more.

But how could I make a list like this without listing the most important thing of all to be thankful for. That would be the fact that the God of the universe loves me way more than I want to let him most of the time. I mean, if the saying is true that actions speak louder than words, then God’s love is so much greater than what could ever be expressed in the mere words of any language. He loves a world that rejects him continuously so much that he sacrificed Himself for us. At the same time while I might be able to say nice things about God and even write about how great He is on a blog sometimes, my actions everyday say the complete opposite most of the time. Yet through all of this, He loves me the same. Not any more or less depending on how good I’ve been. It’s a mystery that I never will be able to understand, but that’s a good thing. How boring would that be if God and everything He did including His love made sense to us?

~ by twentyfivetolife on November 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
