MMVIII

Yes, the year has come to a close. There is no going back to change anything. The book of 2008 is closed. There is something kind of sad about that because looking back I feel like I haven’t accomplished any of the things I wanted to. That’s a whole 366 days (2008 was a leap year) gone to waste. At the same time though, it’s exciting to have a whole new year to plan exciting things and dream about what could happen. God only knows where I will be in life by the time 2009 is over. Where I could be living, what job I could have, who I could be in love with, what new friends I’ll have, what life lessons I will learn, and if I will even still be alive. There is something both terrifying and exciting about the mystery that is the future. So many possibilities are out there just waiting to be acted upon.

So to put 2008 to bed, I’m going to list what I loved and hated about this past year. Here we go…

Loved:

Owl City. This was the soundtrack of 2008 for sure. I know it’s stupid, catchy, happy, pop music, but it’s just perfect for so many situations.

My iPhone. Who knew that a stupid little phone could make things so much easier. Whether it’s getting directions, looking up something on wikipedia to prove someone wrong, or just killing some time in the waiting room with a puzzle game, it’s just an amazing device.

Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller. This is the guy who wrote Blue Like Jazz which was also a great book, but this one surpasses it if you ask me. This book made me reevaluate the way I think about my relationship with God and others. He has a way of writing that makes you question all the religious norms that we so often blindly accept in our current culture without thinking twice.

Movies: The Dark Knight, Wall-E, Juno, Iron Man, Cloverfield, Death Race, Hancock, Get Smart, Burn After Reading, Where in the World is Osama bin Laden?, Definitely Maybe, Australia, Slumdog Millionaire, Seven Pounds.

My Nikon D90. Pictures + Video = Awesome.

Pandora Radio

The ESV Study Bible. It’s a great, accurate translation with enough commentary to teach a theology course.

Hated:

That time I worked 19 days in row.

Indian Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. Aliens? Really? You had like 20 years to write this sequal and that’s the best you could come up with?

Ron Paul not winning the Republican nomination let alone the Presidential Election.

The gate to the parking lot at work that now requires you to swipe your ID to get in. This means every time I forget my ID I can’t park my car. Such a pain!

The stupid accident I got in where some genius decided to pull behind me as I was already backing out of my parking space and just sat there and honked his horn at me a split second before I hit him instead of just moving out of the way.

The fact that my insurance went up $273 because of said accident.

The cough that lasted 2+ months this summer. My poor roommate probably got no sleep the whole summer.

The fact that I still haven’t finished my screenplay.

——

So long 2008. We had a lot of fun, but it’s time to let you go. What did you love or hate about 2008? (I love how that rymed) Leave a comment.

~ by twentyfivetolife on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
