The fish is a beta. Get it?

windows7beta

Everyone’s favorite software company (evil corporation), Microsoft, has just released the first public beta of their shiny new OS simply titled Windows 7. Now I have been a loyal windows user since the Windows 3.1 days. Actually even before that I was using DOS 5.1 way, way back in the day when my family got our first computer. Needless to say I’ve been using Microsoft’s products for almost 20+ years now. There’s been some good ones like Windows XP, and there’s been some downright awful ones like Windows ME.  I’ve been using XP on my desktops since 2001 and I’ve had Vista on my laptop since I got it about a year and a half ago.

I installed the Windows 7 beta on my laptop a few days ago just to play around and see what was new and all that. So far I am really impressed. This actually doesn’t feel like a beta at all. It feels like something that I could buy in the store right now. I haven’t had a single crash at all. It boots and shuts down a good bit faster than Vista does on the same laptop too. The new interface while very similar to Vista has a ton of cool little features that should make things much quicker and simpler after you get used to them. You can check out this site to see all of the new stuff that is in Windows 7.  If you are feeling as nerdy as I am, you can even download the beta, and try it out for yourself here.

I have seriously been thinking about making the switch to Linux or OSX lately. Macs are always tempting, but there is just something about the people that use Macs and their attitude towards Windows users that has always annoyed me. I just don’t see how a certain brand of computers and OS has turned into some kind of crusade that demands that you try to convert all your lowly Windows using friends into Mac fanboys. I really do like OSX though. It’s a great OS for sure. I’m not sure if I want to start drinking the Mac Kool Aid. (I guess I already kind of did when I got an iPhone) I have actually been running Ubuntu (Linux) along with Vista on my laptop for a while now too and I really liked it. Ubuntu is by far the simplest and easiest version of Linux for the common user to get up and running.  Vista has been ok on my laptop. I haven’t had any big problems, but it just seems to run kind of sluggish sometimes. Windows 7 seems to have kept all the good things from Vista and gotten rid of all the bad ones. At the same time there are some cool new features thrown in. This new version of Windows, though, may just keep me on Bill Gates team for another for years. We’ll see.

~ by twentyfivetolife on January 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “The fish is a beta. Get it?”

  1. do not read my latest blog entry, for i am a kool-aid drinker…

  2. some people are installing OSX on pcs (like the small $350 mini-notebooks)…they say it’s pretty cool but still not straightforward trying to get all the drivers working. if people get it working smoothly, it’ll be sweet having a less expensive option. if i had the up front money though, i’d go for the mac.

    i do like ubuntu a lot though…

    -govtmule

Leave a Reply

 
