Big News

I figured it was time to make it official on here. Next month I am leaving my current living situation and heading up to Alaska for a while. For that last year and a half I’ve had the privilege of living on a beautiful piece of property in MD which has been amazing. I’ve gotten to see my sister a bunch since she lives a couple hundred feet away, and I’ve had an awesome roommate that never ceases to make me laugh. I’ve developed friendships with a few people that I’m sure will last a lifetime.

A couple of months ago, I started to get the itch to move somewhere new and exciting and it just felt like it was time to start wrapping up the current chapter of my life.  I started looking into jobs and other opportunities anywhere and everywhere. By random chance I came across the website for Princess cruise lines where I found out about a couple hotels that they have across Alaska. I sent in an application just to see what would happen and after about a month or so I got a call back, did a few interviews, and was offered a job shortly after.

The place I’m going to be working is the Mt. Mckinley lodge which is located pretty much in the middle of nowhere in Denali State Park. It’s definitely going to be a big change from my current job which is right in downtown Annapolis. Mountains, rivers, fresh air, isolation. I can’t wait to experience it. I’m going to be up there for about 6 months total from April till October, so it’s not like I’m leaving forever or anything. It will just be a nice little break from the routine. I’m not sure what’s going to happen when I get back or if I will even make it back. Anything is possible right now, which is awesome. I seem to take comfort in the unknown. When I feel like I know exactly what I’m going to be doing for the next year, month, or even week, I get uncomfortable and ready for a change.

So there you have it. The next chapter of twentyfivetolife. I can’t wait to tell you all about it. Stay tuned.

~ by twentyfivetolife on March 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “Big News”

  1. If it’s possible, I’m both incredibly excited for you and devastated at the same time (for me). I expect many long, involved phone calls about your feelings.

  2. I feel the same way as Ape! I’m so excited for you, but I also know that this means I won’t see you for a long time. That makes me sad! You had better post LOTS of pics on this blog! I want to see what amazing this that camera of yours can do!

  3. ditto on my feelings as well. you know how i love alaska but it is SO far away. -mom

Leave a Reply

 
