There’s no money in rock and roll

Make sure you read the previous post to get a feel for what is going on.

So I made it onto my plane for the flight to Pheonix. Yeah not really on the way to Alaska is it? But who can argue with a $250 one way to AK? That’s really hard to beat. I chose an aisle seat for this flight. My philosophy is aisle seat for flights during the day when I am going to be up and want to feel like I have a little space, then window seats for later flights or red eyes so I can lean on the window and sleep.

As I found my seat, I carefully put my guitar into the overhead hoping that it would make this trip in one piece. I felt better when the guy that was behind me putting his luggage in the overhead said “oh there’s a guitar up here. We need to be careful.” It turned out that the guy was a professional musician who had been playing for like 30 years. He was friends with the new singer from Boston. Pretty sweet if you ask me. He was one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. I asked him how he got his start in the industry to see if I could get some tips, since I still have some dreams of rock stardom. The first thing he said was that there was “no money in rock and roll.” Man, way to put a damper on my dreams. But he did speak the truth. This is something I’ve known for a while. Well, it’s not entirely true. There are some people that do make a good living at playing rock and roll, but the chances are extremely slim. He said if you wanted to actually make enough money to live on as a musician you just need to join a cover band that can get regular gigs. It’s really sad, but true nonetheless. Oh well.I’m not sure if I would even get desperate enough to play in a cover band.

This isn’t really what I wanted to talk about for this post, but now I want to save that for it’s own post. It’s getting late now too, so I will hold off till tomorrow.

~ by twentyfivetolife on April 23, 2009.

5 Responses to “There’s no money in rock and roll”

  1. That’s almost as good as the time Quentin Tarantino was on my flight to Iceland. Almost.

  2. There may be no money but don’t ever give up on your dreams. As you know, money ain’t everything. We miss you so much! love, mom

  3. You’re already a rock star in your nephew’s eyes. He says, “Tim. Tar (guitar)” all the time! Oh, and he’s asked to pray for you several times in the last few days. You’ve really made an impression on him with your 10 minutes of playing I may never march in the infantry. Thanks for doing that!

  4. […] I knew it I had an entire post about something completely different. You can read parts one and two if you missed them so you know what is going […]

  5. ahhh, but remember your commitment to Clowns and Guns!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
