The summer soundtrack

I thought it was about time to share with you what I’ve been listening to this summer. Below are some of my favorites from this summer.

oceaneyes

First up is my favorite album of the summer and one I’ve been looking forward to for a while now. Owl City is an electronic pop project from Adam Young. It’s the kind of music that makes you want to smile, dance, and drive to all at the same time. It’s cheesy pop songs at their guilty pleasure best. Check out the video for Fireflies below.

ke

Next up is the new self titled album from Killswitch Engage. I have always loved how these can combine brutal chugging metal with catchy melodies and epic sounding vocals. This may not be their best effort to date (I think “The End of Heartache” is still my fave) but it sure is a great album.

pth

This one has actually been out for a while, but it is a new discovery for me. Protest the Hero is from Canada and have quite an interesting progressive metal sound. The singer can hit some crazy notes, and the guitar player shreds like no tomorrow. Think of it as Between the Buried and Me with more singing and less growling.

I’ll list some more good music as I come across it.

~ by twentyfivetolife on August 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
