New habits

Remember what I said in that other post about me starting to write again? Well I really am trying lately and I’ve found that it’s not easy at all. Things seem so easy when they are in my head floating around, but the second I try to put them down on paper (well computer screen actually, trying to live green) it seems like nothing makes sense and I can’t put together a single coherent thought. Funny how that works isn’t it? I remember reading something about how you aren’t a writer unless you are writing at least a page a day. That might not sound like much, but to actually force myself to write something, even if it is only one little page, every day seems downright impossible. Is it one of those things that gets easier the more you do it? I suppose when something like that becomes habit it’s much easier.

When I was little I hated taking baths and showers, but now I do it every day (except for those 3 weeks I was driving around the northwest living out of a tent of course) without even thinking about it. I suppose writing could become a similar thing. I might hate it at first, but after I have accepted that it’s something that I have to do every day, I will just write out of habit rather than having to force myself. It sounds like such a simple idea, but these first few weeks are going to suck.

Oh and in case you’re wondering, I’m not working on my teen fiction series…yet. That will come in good time.

I took the photo above on the drive to Las Vegas.

~ by twentyfivetolife on December 14, 2009.

One Response to “New habits”

  1. It does get easier the more you do it, especially if you force yourself to do it every day. It becomes FUN, actually! Don’t think about making it gloriously written each day and the pressure goes away. You should make yourself post every day for a month. Bet it will change how you write! Plus, then I actually know what’s going on with you….

Leave a Reply

 
