All this free time and nothing to do

I forgot how much it sucks to have nothing to do. I have been so busy over the last couple of months that I was really looking forward to have a few weeks to just relax and work on writing. Unfortunately that never seems to happen. For the last week or so in which I have been enjoying my time without a job, I haven’t written a word yet I have all the time in the world to constantly watch Facebook and see every little pointless update that my friends post as well as catching up on this season of The Bachelorette. Here I am with an awesome opportunity to sit and be creative all day, yet I am content to watch horrible reality TV. I have found that I am much better at working on things like writing and practicing guitar if I am also busy working a full time job. If I don’t have a job to keep me busy, all that extra free time I have is way less productive than if I only have  2 or 3 hours a day free. It’s a strange phenomenon.

But today is the start of something different (I hope). I’ve been writing today. I got out of the house and am enjoying a beautiful afternoon at the Salt Lake public library. I’m sitting in front of a huge window enjoying the sites of people walking down the street. I suppose being productive is just like anything else. It gets easier the more you do it. And as soon as I train myself to understand that this is something that I HAVE to do every day, then I think it will get easier.

In case you were wondering, the projects that I’m currently working on include: the screenplay that I have been writing for over 2 years now, a short that is super violent and weird, and a TV pilot that my friend and I came up with about high school. I’m thinking of doing the TV pilot first since that one seems the easiest. It is only going to be around 20 minutes and I have a pretty good idea of what all is going to happen. The screenplay just scares me. It has grown over the years to be this huge monster in my mind that I never feel I can even get close to finishing. I think starting small is good, so TV pilot first.

~ by twentyfivetolife on July 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “All this free time and nothing to do”

  1. Suggestions…

    don’t write at home. You get distracted too easily. Library, parks, coffee shops, book stores.

    Write by hand if your computer distracts you with it’s alluring windows. Outline main points and then type in the details.

    Stay off of Facebook and write on your blog. Writing something every day (even if it’s on a blog) will help you to write more in general. Give it 30 days of posts and see if it helps.

    Get a small notebook to take with you everywhere. I have a Moleskin that is always with me to jot down ideas and thoughts. It’s a life saver.

    Call your sister and tell her that you miss her. 🙂

  2. Yes, Yes, I know. Write more and remove distractions. So easy to say, so much harder to do.

Leave a Reply

 
