No Cal

Last fall I had the pleasure of driving to the lower 48 from Alaska. It was a road trip of epic proportions and would have been even more epic-er, but unfortunately I ended up getting an awesome job for the Sundance film festival that started just a few short days after I crossed the border in Idaho. Me and my friend Stephen had a plan to continue the road trip and head over to Vancouver and go down the west coast to LA while stopping at all the cool places along the way. That didn’t happen though, so we ended up just exploring the northwest for a couple days. It was a great little trip, but one of the things I wanted to see the most was the Coast Redwoods in northern California.

On this trip I finally got to drive through Redwood National Park, Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, and a stretch of road appropriately named the Avenue of the Giants. Basically anytime I saw a sign that said scenic bypass, I took it. I was in no rush to get anywhere so I ended up pulling over a lot and taking pictures of anything that looked interesting which in this case was everything. I just love the dark, lush, green woods in the Pacific Northwest. It is nothing like the woods that I grew up around on the east coast, and to me it feels like I am in back in time, in the jungle with dinosaurs roaming around. I also ended up using the timer on my camera a bunch for self shots so that I had some type record that I was there. Here are a couple of my favorite pics.

~ by twentyfivetolife on August 13, 2010.

2 Responses to “No Cal”

  1. these are just a-mazing.

  2. i love the one with the sunbeams. magic

Leave a Reply

 
