Adulthood = Dying

This week I started reading Quitter by Jon Acuff. The tagline for it is, “Closing the gap between your day job and your dream job.” I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what steps I need to take next to get to my dream job and I thought this book might have some insight. From time to time I read Jon’s blog Stuff Christians Like, which makes fun of all the stupid things in the Christian culture, and always found it entertaining. When I saw that he had just come out with a book about how to get to your dream job, I figured I would give it a read. At the very least I would hopefully get a couple laughs out of it.

In the first chapter he tells you first of all that you shouldn’t just up and quit your day job in hopes of pursuing your dreams. His argument is that even though you might escape the boss you don’t like at your current job, after you quit your new boss becomes your bills and other financial responsibilities that will begin to loom over you when you don’t have any income. He also says that when money starts to get tight you begin to compromise whatever your dream is so that you can make some cash by any means possible. I’m not sure how much I could really take away from this first part because, well, first of all I don’t have a job right now. It’s not that I blindly quit my day job, it’s that all of my jobs in the last two years have been seasonal jobs that end after six months tops which leaves me to hunt for another.

The seasonal thing is fun for sure, but sometimes I do miss the security that I had when I did have a full time job. The health insurance was also pretty nice. The problem for me with “real” jobs is that as soon as I start, I feel like I’m trapped in a prison where there is no escape. Maybe that’s because I’ve never really liked any of my real jobs. Perhaps if I started a new job that was amazing the cabin fever wouldn’t set in before I even saw my first paycheck. Seasonal jobs are great in the fact that you already know it’s going to be over before you start. I can suffer through almost anything as long as I know it’s going to end after a couple months.

Ever since I finished this last job in February though, I’ve been having a lot of “what the hell am I doing with my life” moments. No, I’m not miserable. I’m actually pretty happy most days. But the thought of being 28, single, and unemployed makes me start to wonder if I missed some type of big opportunity in my early 20’s. Did I go to the wrong college?  Should I have gone to film school right after college? Why didn’t I tell that girl I liked her? Why did I take that job? Why did I move there? Why didn’t I move to this other place? etc. I suppose you can second guess everything in life, because things never turn out the way we hope or expect. There was one line in the first chapter of Quitter that I liked though.

“People position adulthood like it’s the end of your life, not the beginning. You’ve had your fun. Now it’s time to grow up. You’ve lived it up. Now it’s time to start dying.”

I guess as much as I don’t like to admit it, I’ve bought into the lie that I should have everything figured out by this point in my life. It really is a lie though. Adulthood should really be where all the fun begins, not a prison sentence in a 30 year career that you don’t like until you retire. I like to think that the best years of my life are always ahead of me, no matter how old I am.

So we’ll see how this book turns out. Maybe it will give me the ideas or inspiration I need to figure out what my dream job is and, more importantly, how to get it.

~ by twentyfivetolife on May 19, 2011.

One Response to “Adulthood = Dying”

  1. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. But I’m okay with that. ALL of life is an adventure and it sure doesn’t turn out the way you think. But I’m glad that He is with me every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

 
